
The Castle of Châteauneuf-en-Auxois
On a rocky outcrop overlooking the rich agricultural plain stands the imposing medieval fortress, guardian of the southern steps of the Auxois, which occupies a strategic position between Dijon and Autun.
Chateauneuf en Auxois
An impressive medieval fortress perched on a rocky spur overlooking the fertile plain stands guard over the southern marches of Auxois, a strategic position between Dijon and Autun. Around the castle lies Châteauneuf-en-Auxois, one of the ''Loveliest Villages in France'', a prosperous little village, bedecked with flowers, with fine stone houses adorned with pediments and turret staircases dating from the 15th and 16th centuries. The narrow medieval streets are lined with houses built for rich Burgundian merchants in the Middle Ages and lead up to a viewing point offering a magnificent panorama. The 16th century church of Saint-Jacques and Saint-Philippe has some fine statues, including one of Saint-Jean-Baptiste attributed to Claus Sluter.
The history of the castle at Chateauneuf en Auxois
The history of the castle began in 1175 when a keep was constructed on a promontory overlooking the valley which the Canal de Bourgogne flows through today. During the Hundred Years’ War, it was fortified by a strong outer wall and five towers connected by curtain walls.
In 1460, Philippe Pot became the owner of the castle. He was private counsellor to Philip the Good, Duke of Burgundy, and a Knight of the Order of the Golden Fleece (Ordre de la Toison d'Or). Philippe Pot added two dwellings and a Gothic-style chapel to the castle. His motto ''Tant L Vault'' can be seen on the mantelpiece above the huge fireplace in the Grande Salle (Great Hall). The chapel is totally covered with 15th century wall paintings depicting Christ and the Apostles.
The castle at Chateauneuf en Auxois today

In 2008 the castle became the property of the Conseil Régional de Bourgogne who run it and promote its cultural and tourist development. Major work to consolidate the counterscarp wall was completed in 2015. The new secure space is regularly opened to the public for visits and shows. The latest project which has taken 2 years has been the reopening of the Logis des Hôtes.
This building has been totally restored and converted into a Discovery Centre equipped with groundbreaking multimedia devices (video, sound, images) to better explain the history of the castle and its development over the centuries and provide the castle with a novel attraction."
Our selection of accommodations
Lodging
Notre Maison d'Antan
in CHATEAUNEUF-EN-AUXOIS - Côte-d'Or
Our new accommodations
Group
La Roche et la Pierre Percée
in AMPILLY-LES-BORDES - Côte-d'Or