After the French Revolution, the abbey was secularised, sold as a national property in 1791 and converted into a paper factory by Claude Hugot. Around 1820 the abbey was bought by the Montgolfier brothers who began the construction of several industrial buildings. Although it became a listed historic building in 1862, restoration did not start until 1906 when it was bought by Edouard Aynard who took until 1911 to restore its medieval appearance and demolish the modern factory buildings. The Aynard family still own the abbey today.
Following restoration work in 1960 and 1990, it is now possible to admire all of the Romanesque-style buildings - the abbey church, monks’ dormitory, cloister, chapter house, monks’ hall and forge. The pointed arch roof of the nave and the flattened apse of the choir are specific to Cistercian churches. The thousands of visitors who stop off at the abbey every year are struck by the authenticity and spirituality emanating from the monastery. The abbey is enhanced by landscaped grounds which were classed as a « Jardin Remarquable » in 2004 by the Conseil National des Parcs et Jardins. Gardening enthusiasts can wander freely around the two hectares of grounds and admire the newly landscaped gardens planted with numerous varieties of plants and shrubs.
In summer, the abbey is a venue for concerts and plays. In 1990, Jean-Paul Rappeneau filmed scenes for ""Cyrano de Bergerac"" there. The same year, Philippe Monnier filmed ""L'Enfant des Loups"", based on the novel by Régine Desforges. The abbey became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1981 (it was one of the first places in France to do so), and is distinguished by its exceptional beauty and that of its splendid natural surroundings.
Open to the public all year round, it welcomes more than 100,000 visitors every year. Discover another architectural gem of Côte d’Or just 20 mintes away, the Château de Bussy-Rabutin